2017 Dirty Dancing Remake Does the Original Film Dirty

Dirty Dancing, an iconic love story from the 80’s, was recently remade by ABC, and it has taken a major hit over social media sites. When the hate appeared on my Twitter feed I had to see what the drama was for myself.

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 4.31.55 PM

Within seconds of starting the film, I regretted it. Who could live up to the iconic duo of Patrick Swayze and Jennifer Grey? Certainly not Colt Prattes and Abigal Breslin. Individually, I think they are strong actors, but in this film there was no chemistry and their relationship ultimately took away from the movie. Throughout the first half of the movie Johnny shows no interest in baby, and then all of a sudden they’re madly in love? This movie jumped too quickly with no emotion tied between the two.

Honestly, I did not hate the movie – if I had to rank it I would give it a solid 5/10. The movie itself didn’t bore me to death, but the characters made me cringe at some scenes. Worth the watch if you want to see what all the fuss is about, but do yourself a favor and watch the original if you are looking for a good chick flick for the night.

Pairs well with… an XL pepperoni pizza (because all that dancing really works up an appetite)

Leave a Reply

